Recorded Documents




The County Recorder manages and protects public records including records related to land ownership and records of birth, death and marriage. 

Land Records





The Inyo County Recorder has maintained copies of all recorded land transaction since the county was formed in 1866. The County Recorder is responsible to preserve this information permanently. Recording land ownership documents is not a legal requirement. However, recording your documents with the Country Recorder creates a permanent record of your homeownership even if your original documents are lost or stolen. 

What documents can be recorded?

There are very specific legal requirements to record documents in the State of California. Generally, any document signed by a person or persons transferring the ownership of land or creating a debt or duty in property can be recorded as long as it is in the proper format. The recorders office cannot give legal advice on how to complete a form but we can assist you with you questions on whether or not a document may be recorded.

Effective January 1, 2015, all document required to be acknowledged in the State of California must have the the following specific California acknowledgement form.

What is the cost to record a document?

Documents that transfer title have additional recording fees and requirements. Any document that transfers title must have a Preliminary Change of Ownership attached or there is an additional $20.00 penalty fee due at the time of recording. In addition, if the property is being transferred for money or other consideration, a transfer tax of $0.55 per every five hundred dollars, or fractional part thereof paid is also due. If you are not sure if a transfer tax is owed, please review the Inyo County Transfer Tax Guideline.

--PUBLIC NOTICE

Senate Bill (SB) 2 - Building Homes and Job Act

Effective January 1, 2018, pursuant to SB2, documents accepted for recording at the Inyo County Recorder's office may be charged an additional $75 as follows:

A fee of seventy-five dollars ($75) shall be paid at the time of recording of every real estate instrument, paper, or notice required or permitted by law to be recorded, except those expressly exempted from payment of recording fees, per each single transaction per parcel of real property. The fee imposed by this section shall not exceed two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225).

The fee shall not be imposed on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded in connection with a transfer subject to the imposition of a documentary transfer tax as defined in Section 11911 of the Revenue and Taxation Code or on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded in connection with a transfer of real property that is a residential dwelling to an owner-occupier.

The County will accept valid declarations of exemption on the face of each document where applicable.


This requirement is being made in accordance with the changes to GC 27388.1 et., al.

Description
Fee
Regular recording fees for the first page (limited to 8 1/2" X 11" paper)
$14.00***
Recording fee for each additional page
$3.00
Penalty for pages other than 8 1/2" X 11". This fee is applied to every page in the entire document, even if only page is the incorrect size.
$3.00
Combined documents. This fee is applied only to the first page. There is no additional cost for additional pages
$14.00***
Penalty for recording transfer documents without a Preliminary Change of Ownership Report
$20.00
Fee for indexing additional mining claim names (does not include the first mining claim name). Mining claims that are grouped together, i.e.. Gold claim #1, Gold claim #2, & Gold claim #3 are indexed as one item "Gold Claim 1-3" and are not charged the additional indexing fee.
$1.00
Release of a government lien
$12.00***
UCC Filing  that is 1-2 pages
$10.00***
UCC Filing that is 3 or more pages
$20.00***
Map recordings for the first page
$15.00***
Map recording fees for additional pages
$3.00
Fee to send a notice of an involuntary lien. This fee applies to each debtor address noticed.
$3.00
***Effective January 1, 2018:

Fee applies to all documents, with the exception of

                                 a.         Exemption declared for DTT paid – “imposition” of DTT refers to the actual collection of the fee and not on those exempt. 
                                 b.         Exemption declared for documents recorded “in connection with” a transfer of real property refers to documents submitted concurrently
                                  c.         Exemption that is “in connection with” a transfer of a residential dwelling to an owner-occupier
                                 d.         Not related to real property

$75.00, per parcel, per transaction with a cap of $225.00

For a complete list of recording fees please view our fee schedule.

How do I request a copy of a document?

You may search the online index of recorded documents from 1982-current for no cost.  

To request copies of documents contact our office.

How can I find out where a plot of land is located?

You may search our GIS database using an address or Assessor's parcel number.

Forms

Affidavit of Assessment Work

Notice of Intent to Hold

Preliminary Change of Ownership Report

Birth, Death and Marriage records





How do I order a copy of a Birth Certificate?

How do I order a copy of a Death Certificate?

How do I order a copy of a Marriage Certificate?